Summer 2014 Rutgers Student Registration Information
RUTGERS SCHOOL OF LAW–NEWARK
INFORMATION FOR RUTGERS UPPERCLASS AND 1LE STUDENTS
SUMMER SESSION 2014
CLASSES AND EXAMINATION DATES: All classes besides Legal Research and Writing II run from Monday, May 19 through Monday, July 14, 2014. There are no classes on Monday, May 26, 2014. Examinations are scheduled for July 17, 21 or 23, 2014 and will begin at 5:30 p.m. in rooms to be announced.
HOW TO REGISTER: Online registration is permitted now through 4:00 p.m. on Wednesday, April 30, 2014. Enrollment in any one or more of the classes offered this Summer is done in three steps. First, you must complete and return the appropriate Sign-in Registration Form which, for 1LE students, can be downloaded by clicking here, and for all other Rutgers students, can be downloaded by clicking here. This form can be submitted electronically by scanning and attaching it to an email addressed to firstname.lastname@example.org or you can bring it to the law school and deliver it to Dean Garbaccio directly.
Second, you register, online. Click here to navigate to the instructions you need to register. To assist you in registering, you will need the Summer 2014 course listing spreadsheet (which you can download and view by clicking here), which shows the meeting times and instructors for all classes, and also provides the course numbers and index numbers needed when registering online. It is recommended that you have both the course listing spreadsheet and the registration windows open in order to toggle between them as you register. You can also navigate from the class schedule to the Summer 2014 course offerings page, to read about the classes that may interest you.
Finally, after you have completed the registration protocol, you must go to the Bursar webpage, and view your account. The tuition and fees will appear in your account immediately upon registration as a balance due, and you must then pay that amount electronically, either by credit card or by electronic transfer from your bank account. 
Note: Registration is not complete until all charges are paid; failure to pay any outstanding balance will result in deregistration from your classes. Financial aid (loans) is available for students taking three or more credits. Go to www.studentaid.rutgers.edu or contact Nicky Fornarotto for more information.
If you are a 1LE student, you will see on your Sign-In Registration Form that your course selection is limited to Legal Research and Writing II and Professional Responsibility. Please select the section of the writing class taught by the same instructor you have now. And at your option, you may also register for Professional Responsibility, which has been deliberately scheduled for the same evenings as the writing class, for your convenience. But please DO NOT REGISTER FOR ANY OTHER SUMMER COURSE. Until you have completed Constitutional Law and Property next fall, you are not eligible to register for these other elective classes.
FEES AND COSTS:
NEW JERSEY RESIDENTS: The fee schedule for students who have been domiciled in New Jersey for one year or longer prior to May 31, 2014 is:
Summer Session Student Fee — $154.75
Tuition per credit for law school courses — $948.00
OUT-OF-STATE RESIDENTS: The fee schedule for students who have not been domiciled in New Jersey for one full year prior to May 31, 2014 is:
Summer Session Student Fee — $154.75
Tuition per credit for law school courses — $1,437.00
Once the Summer session begins, a student may withdraw from a course or seminar by submitting a written notice, on the “Drop” form available from Dean Linda Garbaccio. A grade of “W” will be entered on the record in every case. After the start of the Summer session, a 50% refund of tuition will be given if a course is dropped during the first week (five business days) of Summer session classes (May 16th for Legal Research and Writing and May 23rd for all other courses); thereafter, no refunds will be given.
In an examination course, withdrawals will be permitted until the day of the examination prior to the start of the actual examination.
In a seminar or non-examination course, withdrawals will be permitted until the final official meeting of the class and provided that the instructor consents to the withdrawal. A grade of “F” will be entered as the final grade for a student who does not sit for an examination (unless officially excused by the Dean’s Office) or who does not complete the course or seminar work when required by the instructor.
 The deadline for payment of the term bill is April 30, 2014. Any registration during the late registration must be done in person and the term bill must be paid on the day of registration. Any bill paid during the late registration period will be assessed a $125 late fee. In addition, a fee of $60 is charged for any check which is not honored for payment. Non-payment of your term bill does not constitute withdrawal, and does not excuse you from payment. (See "Procedures for Withdrawal" at the end of the Summer 2014 General Registration Instructions.) Cancellation for non-payment is May 27, 2014. There is a 2.5% charge for payment by credit card.