About the
News & EventsAlumni
& Giving
Make a Gift

News Release (Back to Menu)

Professor Jonathan Hyman Honored as “Legend of ADR” by the New Jersey State Bar Association

April 19, 2007 – 
Jonathan M. Hyman, Professor of Law and Alfred C. Clapp Public Service Scholar at Rutgers School of Law–Newark, has been named one of New Jersey’s “Legends of ADR” by the Dispute Resolution Section of the New Jersey State Bar Association. He was honored on April 12 at ADR Day X, a 10th anniversary conference presented by the New Jersey Institute for Continuing Legal Education, the NJSBA Dispute Resolution Section, the Justice Garibaldi Inn of Court, the New Jersey Corporate Counsel Association, the New Jersey Association of Professional Mediators, and the American Arbitration Association. 

Professor Hyman specializes in litigation and alternative dispute resolution. An active arbitrator and mediator, he has lectured and written extensively in the field of alternative dispute resolution, with a particular focus on how lawyers settle cases and on the relationship between mediation and justice. He was actively involved in the recent adoption of the Uniform Mediation Act in New Jersey. 

Professor Hyman received his A.B. from Harvard and his LL.B. from Yale. Before joining the Rutgers faculty in 1975, he was co-director of the legal clinic at Northwestern Law School. He has devoted much of his teaching at Rutgers to the Constitutional Litigation Clinic, where he has litigated civil rights and civil liberties cases, including cases that corrected discriminatory hiring and promotion practices in police and fire departments. He teaches in the Constitutional Litigation Clinic, and courses in Negotiation, Mediation, Alternative Dispute Resolution, and Contracts.

Three graduates of Rutgers School of Law–Newark were also selected as “Legends of ADR.” They are: Hon. Herman D. Michels (Ret.) ’53, founder of the ADR Inn of Court; Bonnie Blume Goldsamt ’79, former chair of the NJSBA Dispute Resolution Section; and Samuel L. Margulies ’78, one of three original Founders of the Academy of Family Mediators.